Skip to main content
Skip to main menu

Slideshow

Warnell Graduate Student Association

Warnell Graduate Student Association officers

The Warnell Graduate Student Association is open to all graduate students within the Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources. WGSA provides a forum to address graduate student needs and interests and is a great way to meet fellow students.

WGSA hosts two major activities during the school year. Every fall, the "Ring of Fire" is hosted to welcome new and returning graduate students to our program. This event connects you to all of your fellow grads, especially those who you may not interact with on a daily basis. Food and Drink is provided. The Graduate Student Symposium is held every spring, and is an opportunity for grad students to both present their research and learn more about the research undertaken by their peers. In addition, research support is made available to the best presenters in each subject category. Further information regarding these events will be updated and communicated throughout the semester. 

WGSA meetings are held every month; meeting times and location is primarily communicated by email. Keep an eye out for opportunities to join our meetings, or to become involved with additional planning as needed. If you would like to get in contact with our organization, please feel free to reach out to any of our officers or check out the WGSA website. We are happy to assist with any WGSA, Warnell, or general Graduate School questions you may have!

 

Fall 2022 Events:

 

"Ring of Fire"

Where: Flinchum's Pheonix, Whitehall Forest, Athens GA*

When: Thursday, September 1st, 2022, 5:30 - 8:00 PM

*The event starts with check-in from 5:30 - 6:00 PM. Food, drinks, and socializing to follow from 6 - 8 PM.  

 

 

Officers: 2021-2022

President Chambers English chambers.english25@uga.edu
Vice Pres. Annabelle Stanley Annabelle.Stanley@uga.edu
Secretary Kunal Sinha ksinha@uga.edu
Treasurer I Abigail Krogh abigail.krogh25@uga.edu
Fundraising Coordinator Ally Brown Ally.Brown@uga.edu
Website Coordinator Danielle Bradke danielle.bradke25@uga.edu
Mentor Program Coordinator Jack Derochers jackson.derochers@uga.edu
Diversity Committee Chair Behnoosh Abbasnezhad behnoosh@uga.edu
Honors and Awards Committee Danielle Bradke danielle.bradke25@uga.edu
Teaching and Effectiveness Alec Nelson Alec.Nelson@uga.edu
Curriculum Committee Cyndi Carter ccarter@uga.edu
Graduate Affairs Rep  Heather Gaya Heather.Gaya@uga.edu
Seminar Committee Rep Manuja Aparekke manujabandara@uga.edu
UGA Grad Association Rep Cyndi Carter ccarter@uga.edu

Website:

Warnell Graduate Student Association

WGSA Merchandise

Piedmont-South Atlantic Coast Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit (PSAC CESU)

logo

A network of 17 cooperative research units has been established to provide research, technical assistance, and education to resource and environmental managers. These Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Units (CESUs), serve a broad role as providers of research, technical assistance, and education to Federal land managers, environmental and research agencies, and their potential partners.

Oconee Forest Park

oconee forest

Introduction

Oconee Forest Park is a 60 acre natural area on the University of Georgia campus in Athens, Georgia. The park is administered by the Daniel B. Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources.

Oconee Forest Park provides recreation, teaching, and research opportunities for the University community while preserving its 100-year-old forest. 

Support Warnell

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.